Meet the Brentano String Quartet – Misha Amory

The Secret Life of The Brentano String Quartet (2007) Misha Amory, viola

Misha Amory

My earliest musical memory is… A little toy phonograph with a slot to slide the LP’s into – my favorite toy.

When I was a child I wanted to be… I composed music and had notions of being the next Mozart(!)

My mother and father always told me… “You can be a musician if you want to, I’m not going to worry about it!” (They did.)

My first instrument was… A weird toy that you blew into but that had piano keys going down its length.

The thing I like most about my work is… The privilege of playing some of the greatest music ever written, having input into its interpretation, and being able to learn it complexly thanks to multiple performances.

At home I like to… Watch baseball, play with my kids, and eat well.

My happiest moments are… Having my kids welcome me home after a long trip.

If I could travel in time I would… fast-forward 25 years to see if I aged gracefully.

The three heroes I’d like to have to dinner are… Robert Schumann, David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox, and Anthony Trollope.

Tags: , , ,

About Musica Viva Australia

Welcome to Musica Viva’s International Concert Season blog. Here you can follow and read more about our wonderful touring artists.

Leave a Reply

