Meet the Brentano String Quartet – Mark Steinberg

For their 2007 tour, the Brentano String Quartet told us a little about themselves in a segment called “The Secret Life of The Brentano String Quartet”. Today we find out a little more about the quartet’s first violin Mark Steinberg.

Mark Steinberg

My earliest musical memory is… My mother’s out-of-tune singing – I’m trying hard to forget it!

When I was a child I wanted to be… Taller.

My mother and father always told me… Wow, I should have listened. I bet they told me something important.

My first instrument was… The electric organ.

The thing I like most about my work is… Rehearsal breaks.

At home I like to… See how nimble I can be with the remote control.

The hardest thing I ever… Tried to crack with my teeth was a walnut – bad idea.

My happiest moments are… Still in the future, I hope.

Tags: , , ,

About Musica Viva Australia

Welcome to Musica Viva’s International Concert Season blog. Here you can follow and read more about our wonderful touring artists.

Leave a Reply

