Bartok Cycle at the Musica Viva Festival

Besides Beethoven’s magnificent cycle of sixteen string quartets, only Bartok’s cycle occupies a comparable place as an indispensable pillar of the repertoire. The wealth of invention that Bartok has crammed into them sounds as fresh today as it did last century – a permanent testament to his brilliance and daring. Written between 1909 and 1940, these works traverse an arch from the bright romance of the first, to the overwhelming melancholy of the sixth.

Hear the Goldner String Quartet speak about these works in Musica Viva’s Concert Insights:


Tags: , , ,

About Musica Viva Australia

Welcome to Musica Viva’s International Concert Season blog. Here you can follow and read more about our wonderful touring artists.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: