Performing at the Musica Viva Festival – Tamara Anna Cislowska

When and why did you start playing the piano?

The piano was one of my play things as a baby. We had two or three at home and I was drawn to it immediately. It looked so grand and intriguing. Then I found out that a piano makes a very good launching pad for pretending to fly. And that sitting under it is fun and very echo-y. Then I found out you could use it to make lots of different sounds and I was off. I started to talk and play at about the same time.

What was the first record you ever bought?

I think it was the box set of the complete recordings of Rachmaninov and I was about 14. I had to save for quite a while. I bought it on a trip to America. It turned out to be an excellent investment and something I treasure to this day!

Which living artist do you admire most and why?

It’s tremendously hard to narrow it down to one person. And living. I admire composers enormously.

How important is a pianist’s relationship with a piano technician?

It’s always beneficial to work closely with a technician. I believe it’s very important to understand the mechanics of the instrument you play. The piano is a complex machine and learning more about it can only help and inspire you in music-making. I find technicians vital, integral to the process, and artists themselves. They are a major factor in the success of a concert. I had a situation recently when a technician saved the day and turned a very difficult instrument into a manageable one. Without him, things would have turned out very differently.

Was there a defining moment in your life that led you to pursue a career as a professional musician?

Not really, it rather evolved. I gave concerts from an early age and continued on.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

At the piano.

Tags: , , ,

About Musica Viva Australia

Welcome to Musica Viva’s International Concert Season blog. Here you can follow and read more about our wonderful touring artists.

Leave a Reply

