Alina & Cedric reviewed in the Hobart Mercury

Alina Ibragimova & Cedric Tiberghien dropped by Musica Viva’s Sydney office today to have lunch and meet the staff. The duo have a free day in Sydney before heading to Newcastle for a concert tomorrow night. Both musicians were lovely and answered a variety of questions on topics ranging from questions such as what’s on their iPods (Swedish jazz in Cedric’s case); how the approach preparing new musical works such as Paul Stanhope’s Agnus Dei (After the Fire); and how touring as a duo differs to performing as a soloist with an orchestra (the response: you can’t invite an orchestra to your hotel room to watch DVDs with you, as you can with your recital partner).

It’s nice to see this blog has an informed readership and as the Hobart Mercury‘s Peter Donnelly has left a post inviting us to read his review of Alina and Cedric’s Hobart concert we re-post it here:

“This was the outstanding Musica Viva event of this season, so far, for me. From the opening trill of Beethoven’s Violin Sonata No. 10 in G major, Op 96 (1812), it was clear these players were able to bring a unity of purpose and sophistication of musicianship that was profoundly at the service of the music. The choice of program provided the opportunity for these artists to demonstrate their mastery of a wide-ranging repertoire.

Janacek’s Violin Sonata (1914), his only mature work in this form, was stunningly performed, with great virtuosity by both players as well as sensitivity and naturalness of phrasing. It was reassuring to hear young players who not only provided the expected energy and superb technique, but also demonstrated a real understanding of the music they performed.

Paul Stanhope introduced his new work Agnus Dei (After the Fire) (2010), which received a world premiere. This powerful, elegiac piece was composed as a response to last February’s devastating Black Saturday bushfires. Starting with the disturbingly effective percussive sounds from the piano strings and high harmonics on the violin, the music gradually grew more intense and energised, finally attaining a release carrying with it some hint of hope.

The concert ended with a rich and satisfying performance of Schumann’s Violin Sonata in D minor, Op 121 (1851).”


Tags: , , , ,

About Musica Viva Australia

Welcome to Musica Viva’s International Concert Season blog. Here you can follow and read more about our wonderful touring artists.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: