The Harp Consort : Tour Blog

Carolan’s Harp: Airs and dances by ‘the chief musician of all Ireland’

The music of Turlough O’Carolan spans the divide between high art and popular styles and is a mixture of fashionable French Baroque dance forms, including minuets and jigs, combined with ancient Gaelic forms including laments and planxties. His compositions were published for the first time after his death and have filtered through the centuries as an influential component of Ire;and’s rich aural tradition. They include the celebrated tunes Carolan’s Concerto, Planxty Connor, Miss MacDermott (Princess Royal) and Charles McCabe’s Lamentation for his dear and beloved Friend, Terence Carolan.

Commences Australian Tour Wed 5 May 2010



About Musica Viva Australia

Welcome to Musica Viva’s International Concert Season blog. Here you can follow and read more about our wonderful touring artists.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: